9/14/2015
Question from Stephanie
 
Do you have the Movement Response in the 161 length?
Thanks!
9/15/2015
Answer from jbo
 
Hi Stephanie, we have more 161s scheduled to arrive before October, so hopefully they will be here soon.
Answer this question:

11/8/2014
Question from peg
 
I am just moving to AT from telemark and am 120lb 5'5", not sure what length to buy.
11/8/2014
Answer from jbo
 
Welcome Peg, I will send you an e-mail to learn a bit more about your plans & style before giving a recommendation.
Answer this question:

11/7/2014
Question from Mark Angevine
 
I am interested in the Response-X to use both on piste and off. I am 5'9" and weight 157 lbs, and I have generally used 175-177 length skis the last few years. A couple of reviewers mentioned that they ski this length, but were much heavier guys (200+). Should I go down to a shorter size? I am not a really fast or aggressive skier anymore; at 61 I'm happy to just keep going uphill and down with some efficiency.
11/7/2014
Answer from jbo
 
Hey Mark, from a pure skiing standpoint the 177 is still good for you. Lots of folks (including myself) shave some centimeters for mountaineering though, as it is more manageable for all the non-skiing parts (and some of the tight skiing). Since you're also using it at the resort, I think I would stick with the 177.
Answer this question:

9/3/2014
by Jonathan S (used product regularly)
 
Overall: Four Stars for an incredible ratio of surface area to weight, with float in unconsolidated snow far above (both literally and figuratively?) what would be expected from the 89mm waist. But minus a star short of perfect for firm-snow carving that is less than what I had hoped – perhaps unrealistically, especially given my alpine racing background (and given all the other entirely positive reviews), but I feel like the Response-X skis like a much wider ski, for both better and worse.

Background on product familiarity: I skied on the 2013-14 version in a 169cm for almost 43,000 earned vertical plus several lift-served runs, mounted with Dynafit Speed Superlite bindings, driven by Scarpa Alien 1.0 boots. Conditions ranged from nearly perfect to nearly indescribably bad. Somewhat similar skis I have used include the Hagan Y Flow (173cm, 87mm waist with significant rocker), Dynafit Manaslu (169cm, 92mm with early rise tip), Movement Logic-X (168cm, 88mm waist with traditional camber and geometry), and Dynafit Mustagh Ata Superlight (169cm, 89mm with traditional camber and geometry).

First, the first impressions out of the box: I had been an early adopter of the Movement X-Series for the 2010-11 season, both their skimo Fish-X and the all-around Logic-X (reviewed here: https://www.wildsnow.com/4181/movement-logic-x-series-review/). I was hoping that the Response-X would retain all of the firm-snow carving ability of the Logic-X, while improving the performance even more in unconsolidated snow by the addition of tip rocker (plus another 1mm of width throughout). Side-by-side with the Logic-X, the tip geometry of the Response-X is far different, both the early rise and the shape. (And the Response-X ditches the Logic-X’s final ~2cm of upturned tail, which had been utterly pointless except for hampering the ability to jam the tails straight into the snow.)

All 14 binding holes drilled out very nicely with the screws seated securely – except for one that I botched by foolishly and lazily trying to force in a screw that started crooked. Fortunately the helicoil went in very well. Overall, an impressively secure mount for such a light ski. (And note that unlike some other light high-carbon skis, the profile is of normal thickness, so no need to compromise retention by filing down screw lengths.)

Second impressions, in use: Overall, the Response-X excelled in all sorts of unconsolidated snow. In untracked powder that had formed a slight crust at the lower elevations, the Response-X skied better that the Manaslu had the prior day in the same location. In a varying combination of sheltered powder and potentially tricky windslab, the Response-X easily handled the constant transitions. Returning from Mount Hood’s Hogsback through the Palmer snowfield (which had been open to lift-served skier traffic early in the day), the Response-X plowed through the rapidly setting up piles of loose corn, which would usually have me thinking mainly about my ACL.

Exiting through a lower-elevation gully on Mount Saint Helens, the Response-X was so much fun in overly ripe corn (probably more so than the twice-as-heavy skis of my four partners, whom I’d arranged to meet at summit, which is a nice arrangement when on a ski this light). Probably so much fun as to even encourage unsafe habits with regard to danger from wet slides and rockfall! In breakable crust, it managed as well as pretty much anything could. In heavy isothermal almost bottomless mank – well, that one outing was really pushing it, but at least both the skis and I survived.

But on nice lift-served groomed corn, I had to get my skis way out from underneath me, drawing on all my gs racer and race coach angulation skills, to produce the true two-footed carve I would have expected to come far more easily from the Response-X, especially given my experience with the Logic-X. Ditto for some brief experience with a groomer.

I could even feel this to some extent when deskinning as I pushed off against one deskinned ski while messing with the other. I suspect the culprit could be the relationship between the sidecut position versus the tip rocker?

Fortunately, in “firm” “snow” more typical of a ski mountaineering situation, the Response-X was fine when having to put them sideways and not being concerned about race-precision carving. Coming down twice from just below Mount Hood’s Hogsback in mid April, the uneven frozen surface sparkled beautifully, but skied ugly – I knew it wasn’t just me since other skiers were downhiking (and not just telemark skiers, but skiers on AT gear, even sporting technical ice tools from their summit bids).

Third impressions, for long-term durability: I can’t pass judgment on that yet given my usage. And my similarly constructed Logic-X are still relatively low usage. However, my similarly constructed Movement Fish-X rando race skis are in excellent condition despite logging almost 386,000 of earned vertical feet, plus a bit of lift-served, and also sporting three sets of holes in the heel area.
9/18/2014
Reply from Kerry
 
Jonathan, thanks for the review. Can you compare edge hold of Response X to the Manaslu on steep/firm/icy? (Are your Manaslus of the 2010-2013 variety? Use Alien 1.0 also in Manaslu?)
Ever use a stiffer boot on the Response X? I skimo in Alien 1.0 too, but prefer TLT-5 P for the kind of skiing you've described here.
Thanks,
Kerry
9/19/2014
Reply from Jonathan S
 
Hard for me to compare the two, since they seem so different to me in so many ways. My Manaslu is the original generation, which continued on until recently as the women’s version (while the men’s/unisex became a bit stiffer). And note that the new 2014-15 version is entirely unrelated (but for the name).
I’ve used my Manaslu almost exclusively for backcountry powder. During my one run on a relatively steep groomer, I thought it held fine, but not much of a carver since the sidecut is so straight.
By contrast, the Response-X is a much more responsive and precise carver once it’s highly angulated since the sidecut is much more pronounced, and stiffer too (as least compared to my retroactively deemed women’s Manaslu).
I’ve used the Response-X exclusively with the Alien 1.0, and the Manaslu exclusively with the original-generation DyNA and then the TLT5p. I don’t think that’s a factor though, given that both boots are very stiff laterally.
Comment on this review:

8/27/2014
Question from Court
 
Do these come with skins? I thought I remember seeing that before but I don't currently see anything indicating this.
8/27/2014
Answer from jbo
 
Hi Court, we sold these last season paired with matching skins. Unfortunately we won't be getting those this season due to logistical difficulties. We will have the same Colltex Mix skins, just not pre-cut or Movement branded. We can trim them for you if you want. The good news is the price is much lower on the skis.
Answer this question:

8/20/2014
Question from Lars Sönsteröd
 
Planning a trip for USA next winter. The San Francisco, Tahoe area where I have some acquaintances for skiing.

My plan is not to bring my old equipment and buy new on place.
I want to buy a pair of Responce X length 177, bindings dynafit and a pair of boots Scarpa or Dynafit size 41.5 or 42.

Do you have a dealer and the associated goods on location? Prices?

Kind regards
Lars
8/20/2014
Answer from jbo
 
Hi Lars, welcome to the states, I hope Tahoe gets enough snow for you this year! We are based in Salt Lake City but can ship to Tahoe or SF in 1-2 days. Check out our packages section for deals on a whole rig. It would help to know your exact boot size ahead of time to avoid returns if you're only here for a short time.
Answer this question:

3/4/2014
by Mandy (used product a few times)
 
These skis are so light they make climbing a cinch, and the early rise, width and shape make turning effortless - you just think turn and there you are (good thing in tight trees). Plus, the support, information and encouragement provided by Skimo was fantastic.
Comment on this review:

1/5/2014
by Erik (used product regularly)
 
I bought these skis new this year and have spent about two weeks skiing the Teton Valley backcountry on them so far. I skied wind scoured snow and icy conditions at 10,000+ feet, deep powder mid and lower mountain and breakable crust here and there.

Needless to say, I'm a big fan. I am particularly impressed how they skied a foot plus of new powder. I'm 6"4, 210 lbs, and I don't feel the need for a "wide body" ski while skiing Teton powder. These skis ski everything just fine and are super light on the skin track.

I'm looking forward to skiing them in the Alps this spring!
Comment on this review:

12/23/2013
by Nate (used product a few times)
 
Got these skis for a deal on skimo.co and had my first chance to use them in the Wasatch yesterday (12/21/13). Fresh 8" really let the early rise tips show their stuff. It took a couple of runs to get used to how much these skis want to be driven. I'm used to having to sit back in the powder to get my tips to rise, but these demand forward cuff pressure and when you do you get rewarded with intuitive turning and excellent stability. I weight 205# and I picked the 177 length to save weight, regardless these skis floated through the soft surprisingly well. It also took a little time to get used to how light these skis are. I mean I bought them because they're light but until I had them on my feet and started hiking up hill I had no idea how big a difference a few hundred grams would make. I felt like I had rockets on my boot on the up. Even skiing down it was amazing how easy they swing around into the turn. I suppose I should reserve final judgment until I have them in more challenging conditions, but so far they have been worth every penny. Great ski. I'm very excited to put them through their paces this season.
Comment on this review: