2/7/2015
Question from dub_xion
 
Hey- I've got some Speed Radicals going on some 88mm Waybacks - wanted to check that the blue 88mm crampons from 12/13 will work with the Speed Radicals. Thanks!
2/7/2015
Answer from jbo
 
Hi dub_xion, that guy will be too skinny, it's exactly 88mm. The current models measure ~2mm over spec to allow for the curve of the ski away from the center point.
Answer this question:

1/16/2015
Question from mike mourar
 
if my ski waist is 100mm will the 100mm ski crampon work ???
1/17/2015
Answer from jbo
 
Hi Mike, you have a couple mm to play with so it would probably work, although not always. If the ski has a steep sidecut and you have big feet, the area where the crampon lays could be wider than 102.
Answer this question:

1/5/2015
by biggb (used product regularly)
 
As a ski tourist living in Southern Idaho I would NEVER leave my ski crampons at home.

Have plenty of time left my pals in the dust cursing when the skin track gets icy or conditions less than perfect. Heck, go to the Tetons and some of those tracks are so packed and steep it's like blue ice (I jest).

I don't hesitate to bust these out and forget about all the back sliding.

Fit great, connect easily ... simple.
Comment on this review:

12/15/2014
Question from Steven Campbell
 
I have a G3 Tonics with a 100mm waist. Would 120mm dynafit crampons be too big?
12/15/2014
Answer from jbo
 
Hi Steven, 120mm is not ideal for those since there would be some overhang. The 100s should fit snugly as they are built with a couple extra mm to account for the sidecut change between the waist and the crampon area, which varies depending on you boot size. 110 would be an in-between fit.
Answer this question:

12/1/2014
by Chris W (used product a few times)
 
I have the 90mm crampons, and you should be aware before you buy/use that your toepieces must be perfectly centered to avoid damaging the sidewall of the ski. A very slight misalignment of your bindings is enough to cause interference, and it's not safe to assume that a well-respected shop has done this to the precision required; mine weren't.

As for the parts itself and their function in the couple times I've used them - no complaints!
Comment on this review:

11/24/2014
Question from Daniel (hasn't used product)
 
hi,

I have the Cho Oyu 174s. I measured the ski exactly where the crampon will fit. it ranges from 88 to 90 mm in that area.

Do you think i can still use the 90 mm, or need to go for the 100s?
11/24/2014
Answer from jbo
 
Hi Daniel, the crampons are a couple mm wider than the specified number, so go with the 90s.
Answer this question:

10/22/2014
Question from andrew
 
Can anyone verify if a 100mm ski crampon will work for the 184cm dynafit denali ski at 99mm underfoot? (I could obviously size-up to 110mm but would prefer 100 if they will fit). Thanks!
10/22/2014
Answer from jbo
 
Hi Andrew, even though I knew the answer I went and tried it anyway. Works perfectly...though the black ones look cooler.
10/23/2014
Answer from Andrew
 
cool, thanks! with a red speed superlite binding, i think colors are going to clash regardless
Answer this question:

9/4/2014
by Jonathan S (downright abused product)
 
Overall: Five Stars for a very nicely designed ski crampon, with reinforcement ribs, a smooth retainer bar, holes nicely positioned for adding spacers, and an expanded variety of width options. Just be careful on the sizing, which can be somewhat confusing.

Background on product familiarity: Starting in the 2004-05 season, I’ve used a wide variety of Dynafit crampon widths, with a wide variety of ski binding crampon attachments, in a wide variety of conditions and terrain.

First, the first impressions out of the box: Do I really need ski crampons? Yes, you do! If the skinning might be steep and/or firm, and if you have room to set your own skintrack angle (as opposed to a below-treeline hiking trail for the ascent), then ski crampons (combined with good skinning technique) can allow you to leave the boot crampons at home for many tours, and also eliminate booting transitions. I also consider ski crampons to be mandatory for any glacier travel where your skintrack might be dictated by open crevasses or sagging snowbridges, leading to tricky maneuvers.

The Dynafit crampons are very nicely designed, with reinforcement ribs and a smooth retainer bar. Sizing though can be confusing, since sometimes Dynafit’s designed width has overstated the interior dimensions, yet ski waist widths for specific lengths can often deviate from the publicized spec that is based on a particular length.

Some more general thoughts on all of the above are at my old review here … although for specific sizing questions, best to just ask Skimo Co!

Second impressions, in use: I’ve found that I prefer a little more crampon teeth penetration, even when used on a typical middle heel elevator or a race-style “half-step” position. Fortunately the Dynafit crampons already come with holes that are perfect for installing spacers, and the TLT Speed Nubbin is the perfect spacer, secured with hardware store fasteners (e.g., T-Nut with Brad hole 6-32 x 1 ¼ plus corresponding machine screws).

Third impressions, for long-term durability: I had previously thought that these were indestructible, and that size didn’t matter (as long as they were of course wide enough), based mainly on previously using what were probably “80” crampons on a 67mm rando race ski. Unfortunately, I then proved myself wrong, with a perfect(ly bad) combination of a 110 crampon on a 90mm ski (which I realized only afterwards actually did just barely take my 90 crampons), for skinning up a short icy slope that created lots of torque on the crampon and its binding interface. With the proverbial irresistible force up against the immovable objects of the Dynafit Vertical ST baseplate’s reinforced crampon slot and the Dynafit crampons’ reinforcement ribs, the retainer bar yielded way. Unfortunately this can’t be welded because of aluminum <> steel interface. But just keep the crampon differential well under my mistaken 20mm and you should be fine.
Comment on this review:

6/4/2014
Question from Jeff Damp
 
If I order a PAIR of Dynafit ski crampons (100 mm) for $74.95, do I get a pair, or just a single crampon?
6/4/2014
Answer from jbo
 
Sorry for any confusion Jeff. These are priced and packaged in pairs so both your feet will be happy crampers.
Answer this question:

3/26/2014
Question from jpk
 
Can you tell me which size is best for my Dynafit Manaslu 187s?
3/26/2014
Answer from jbo
 
Hi jpk, the 100mm orange crampons would fit your 95mm wide Manaslus perfectly.
Answer this question: