11/25/2014
Question from Nik P.
 
What are the width dimensions of these plates? I was thinking of using them for the purpose of having plates between the ski top surface and the binding itself, since I like a bit elevated position. Are there similar plates for the Plum Race 185?
11/25/2014
Answer from jbo
 
Hi Nik, the rear plates are 38mm wide, 94mm long, and 4mm thick. They aren't useful for correcting a negative ramp angle while skinning since they bindings they fit don't have a flat mode, but they do provide additional ramp while skiing. The Plum 185 has adjustment plates built in and the opposite is true: negative skinning correction but no additional skiing ramp since the tower height is shortened (you could stack another Plum adjustment plate under the 185, but might as well just get the 145 and adjustment plates for less weight).
11/25/2014
Answer from Nik P
 
Thanks JBO. It's a good idea, but for me to understand: are you suggesting to use Race 185's adjustment plates on 145's, or are there any others available. because, as i have gathered from the Dynafit adj. plates description, they are not compatible with Plums
11/25/2014
Answer from jbo
 
Hey Nik, sorry for the lack of linking in my reply. The Plum adjustment plates are here. They are compatible with the 135/145 and are the same plates found on the 185.
Answer this question:

11/12/2014
Question from Ray H
 
I want to put an adjustment plate on my Speed Superlites that apparently have a ramp angle of about 3mm. and am wondering if I should use a front or a back plate. Would a front plate reduce my ramp angle to 0, and if so how would this affect climbing. Alternately, how much would a back plate increase ramp angle and would it be too much for good downhill performance. Opinions for the overall best setup appreciated. Thanks in advance.
11/12/2014
Answer from jbo
 
Hi Ray, the plates are 4mm thick so you'd be at -1.5mm with a front plate, and +6.5 with a rear. I think the skiing is fine at +6.5 but if you want to get to zero you can add 6.4mm classic shims which would do just that.
Answer this question:

9/25/2014
Question from Riff (hasn't used product)
 
Question: does the plate mount on the same pattern as an adjustable heel like a Speed Radical? Can I re-use the holes from my heels for the plates? I have inserts in my skis for the regular pattern and I'm curious if I can bolt up the plates to these, or need to re-drill. I want to upgrade from old FTs, and the Speed Superlight looks great, but I want to match two BSLs.
Thanks.
9/25/2014
Answer from jbo
 
Hi Riff, unfortunately the plates don't share a hole pattern with the Radical heels. Further, being the same length, they would need to be offset fore or aft from your inserts by a safe amount. A couple options for reusing your inserts are: 1) Kreuzspitze 14mm plates with SCTT or Plum 145 heels & 2) Speed Radical or Speed Turn heels.
Answer this question:

3/31/2014
by Stano Skintrack (used product a few times)
 
The plates are wicked! I used them for my race binding mounted on Nanga Parbat skis to keep them light and to accommodate for both my touring and racing boots. Anyways, benefits are pretty self explanatory :)
Comment on this review:

1/4/2014
Question from Jeff
 
Will the Dynafit adjustable plates work on the speed radical bindings?
1/4/2014
Answer from jbo
 
Jeff, these plates are designed for the Low Tech Race and Speed Superlite bindings which don't have any fore/aft adjustment. The Speed Radical bindings have a plate built into the heel piece so these are not needed.
1/4/2014
Answer from jbo
 
Oh, I will point out the toe piece of the Radical matches the hole pattern on these front plates. If you wanted to have adjustable toe pieces on the Speed Radical or add some lift to reduce your ramp angle, you could use just the front plates.
Answer this question:

1/3/2014
Question from David
 
I was curious if you can use these mounting plates to easily swap your bindings from ski to ski? Like the g3 onyx?
Thanks dave
1/3/2014
Answer from Sandy B
 
They could definitely be used as "swap" plates. I haven't heard of anyone using it for that purpose, but for the multiple ski racer, it makes sense. The primary use is for demo, with a further benefit of changing boots(bsl) without having to redrill your skis.
Answer this question:

12/6/2013
Question from Jerimy A
 
Does the mounting pattern for the rear plate line up with the standard Dynafit heel mounting pattern (Speed Radical or older Speed Classic)?
12/6/2013
Answer from jbo
 
Hey Jerimy! Unfortunately the rear adjustment plates are skinnier than the Radical/Vertical/Speed heel pieces so the holes don't line up. They do seem the same length curiously.
Answer this question:

11/19/2013
by A OK (used product regularly)
 
I only need to run one plate to cover the range of ski boot bsl's I own, and naturally I don't run it in the front because that would be …. weird. Obviously, I run just the rear plate. So, I automatically get a little shim action, which might increase my ski boots' forward lean by a degree, which I prefer anyway.

As with the La Sportiva plates, my only concern was that the 'arms' might bend out during the torquing applied to tighten the bindings down. No such issue.

The artistry of these plates is lost during a top-side viewing of the product. The bottom side has been hollowed out artfully. Saves weight, creates a thing of beauty for the gram freak. I consider this essential gear for mounting race bindings.
Comment on this review: