1/17/2018
Question from Bill Hopkins
 
I have recently started using a pair of Scarpa Aliens (not Aliens 1.0) for backcountry skiing. In terms of uphill/downhill performance, I like them. My concern is for the grip factor of the soles. Compared to my previous boots, Garmont Masterlite, Dynafit TLT 4, they feel slippery on ice and firm snow. This is not too bothersome in midwinter as I have little need for transitioning to kicking steps or rocky summit scrambles. However, traverse and summit skiing season is approaching and I wonder if these boots are up to that kind of use. My question, do you have any familiarity with the "grip factor" of the soles on the Aliens? FWIW - I use crampons (boot and ski) and ice ax when needed. Obviously, I'd rather not be forced to use these tools on a regular basis. Thanks for any experience or thoughts you may have.
1/17/2018
Answer from Nate
 
Hi Bill, the Alien has a tried and true history as a ski mountaineering boot and is definitely up to the use you are proposing for it. The original intent, however, is as a skimo race boot which means that many of the features have in turn been trimmed to a minimum. The sole is known to be good, but it is not as thick or made of the same rubber that heavier boots are equipped with. In the end, the conditions and your personal confidence are the deciding factor for when you need to put the crampons on to ensure traction and safety.
Answer this question:

1/11/2018
Question from Bob
 
Are the Alien and Maestrale shell sizes significantly different? I understand from previous questions that the Alien runs slightly small. The reason that I ask is that I live in an area with little selection of AT boots to try on. I fit a size 26 in the Maestrale, but by chart size I should be a 26.5 (8.5 shoe size). Would I want to order a 27 Alien?
1/12/2018
Answer from Trace Leches
 
Hey Bob! If you're a 26 Maestrale and wear an 8.5 shoe then you're almost definitely a 26 Alien as well! You may fit into the 27 but with the amount of different boots available on the market, sizing up to get a proper fit is a no-no. I realize the selection is a bit slim so taking that into consideration, I do have a La Sportiva Syborg in 26.0 if you're interested in this weight category of boots. I wear an 8.5 shoe and the 26.0 shell is plenty generous in terms of length.
1/12/2018
Answer from Robert G
 
Thanks, Trace. That helps, sort of. I should have ordered first and asked questions later, as the size 26 Aliens are now gone! The Syborg sounds like a reasonable alternative, but Iā€™m concerned about their durability. I need something in which durability will be as, or more, important as performance. I love the resources on this site, though. You guys clearly know your stuff.
Answer this question:

11/4/2017
Question from mckenna
 
Can you guys explain why (according to the spec. sheet) the Alien, which is a cheaper boot is lighter than the new Alien RS? Does the RS just ski better or is more comfortable or both? Why would I want the heavier more expensive RS version? Thanks.
11/4/2017
Answer from jbo
 
Hi mckenna, this version of the Alien is being replaced by the RS. The RS does ski better and has improved sealing from the elements. Unfortunately that did add a bit of weight. For racing, this original might be better!
Answer this question:

11/3/2017
Question from Rob
 
Hi Skimo team,

I'm currently touring on 27.5 Maestrale RSs. Do you recommend sizing up to 28 for the Alien?
11/3/2017
Answer from jbo
 
Hi Rob, the 27.5 Maestrale shell is also the 28, so you're not even really sizing up. SCARPA uses the same length sizing across their boots for the most part, though the Aliens are a bit narrower.
Answer this question:

2/8/2017
by Peter I (downright abused product)
 
I guess I'll throw in my 2 cents even though this review will be moot after the new Aliens hit stores next season.

My Aliens have seen near-daily use for 1.5 seasons and for the most part are still going strong. However, I ended up making a couple modification before I felt truly pleased with their performance.

Most notably, I cut out the "baffle" to improve touring performance. Honestly the baffle is such a terrible solution to the problem of snow getting in your boots. I found it hindered my cuff articulation and reduced the enjoyment of skinning. IMO Scarpa should just include a free pair of their gaiters with purchase of the boots.

Do yourself another favor and ditch the power strap--another terrible design.

I concur with previous reviewers pointing out the latch cord as a weak point in the boot's design. I've broken countless cords and sadly have yet to find a cord that lasts longer than 2 weeks or so. Be prepared and carry a couple extra cords.

I've worn holes in the heels of 2 pairs of liners. This wouldn't hurt so much if they didn't cost over a quarter of the price of the boots.

All this being said, I've been immensely pleased with their ability to tour AND ski. These are the only boots I own, so I ski them with race skis as well as touring skis (Dynafit Cho Oyu) and powder planks (La Sportiva Vapor Floats). Aliens x Cho Oyu has been a great combo. On the Vapor Floats they are admittedly a bit under-powered, but if you latch and cinch the boa tight, you can dance down the pow just fine.

2/8/2017
Reply from jbo
 
Hey Peter, thanks for the feedback. A cord should definitely last more than a few weeks. It's possibly you have a burr in the lever tunnel that might be fraying it. If so, a file will fix.
Comment on this review:

9/8/2016
Question from John Burkhart
 
Hello,

I am wondering if there are any crampons capable of climbing WI2-easy WI4 for use in alpine climbing situations with the Scarpa Aliens? I have a pair of Cassin Blade Runner crampons that I use with mountain boots and I love 'em but they don't cinch tight on the Aliens. Intended usage would be east coast Mt. Washington/Katahdin gully climbing and skiing off. Potentially also some ski routes on Rainier and such.
9/21/2016
Answer from jbo
 
Hi John, consensus is the Grivel G20 with a CAMP toe bail. The CAMP bails seem to fit the most securely, while the G20 is nice and light.
Answer this question:

8/28/2016
Question from Derek
 
Do you sell the cuff to lower boot mounting bolts, both inner/outer?
8/29/2016
Answer from jbo
 
Hi Derek, the cuff nuts, washers and screws are available in our listing for boot parts. The parts are different for the 1.0 version versus the standard Alien, so note that each are listed separately in the drop list.
Answer this question:

2/29/2016
by Jesse M (used product regularly)
 
I'd like to add two things to the above positive reviews, all of which I agree with.

Durability. The cuff pivot on the Alien is user maintainable. This is a big improvement over boots with just a rivet in this location which just loosens over time introducing slop into your downhill mode. With access to the right equipment you can repress this rivet but that is a huge inconvenience compared to just using a few tools you already have on hand. Other important moving parts on the Alien are also field maintainable like the lock lever pivot. This is all really good stuff. The one durability question mark in my mind is the cord that is part of the cuff locking mechanism. I think carrying a spare is prudent but should say that mine has not broken and I see lots of racers with this boot and have not seen one sidelined by cord snappage. Probably an infrequent problem but one to be prepared for!

Powder protection. My boots are the older model but I have seen the new version has full liner coverage which is pretty unique for a race boot. This makes it a great bet for all day use in fresh powder which can really pack in to more open boot shells like the PDG. Having only seen these I dont know if the extra coverage negatively impacts walk mode. Hopefully someone else can comment on that.
11/19/2016
Reply from Nick T
 
Spot on about the cord locking mechanism being a weak link. I've personally sheared both of mine while post holing through mank and into talus. (Voile straps to the rescue!) Carrying backup cord, as well as voile straps for both boots is highly recommended if you are mountaineering with Aliens.

As for the full liner coverage, it is actually an overlap that does not impede the walk mode. At least that I know of, as I've not owned the prior Alien w/o such liner. But I can't imagine it being too much different.
Comment on this review:

2/16/2016
Question from joss dobbie
 
Dear JBO,

I am looking to buy a pair of Aliens. I have tried on the Alien in Mondo 28 and it is about 3-4mm too short at the front ā€“ ie all 5 toes are touching the front of the liner and shell ā€“ a little too close for comfort. I have also tried on the Alien in 29 and it just feels a little bit too big. Essentially I am a 28.5 in the Alien which does not exist. Do you have any suggestions? Can I heat mould the 28 to make it bigger by 4mm, or should I put a thick insole in the 29 and wear a thicker sock. Or should I try a different boot altogether?
2/16/2016
Answer from jbo
 
Hi Joss, in general it's better to start small as a boot can be made bigger, but not smaller. It sounds like something a heat mold would fix. We're happy to walk you through a shell fit after you receive the boots, just give us a call.
2/16/2016
Answer from Jonathan S
 
I've had the same problem with the Alien 1.0 and also the RC1. (Note that half sizes are a fiction in all alpine boots, whether touring or downhill - Scarpa gets credit for being honest on this with the Alien line.) But with a dremmel and some courage, you can shave down the foam in the toe box. Even with these thin liners, the toe box still has foam that is serving no purpose for fit. (Well, okay, it might be adding to warmth, so don't try this for a Denali expedition!)
Answer this question:

2/8/2016
by Danny (used product a few times)
 
I got a pair of these to replace/upgrade from F1s. I have put circa 50 miles on these so far and can't get over how great they feel. The really do feel like running shoes. I also find they ski downhill surprisingly well. My only complaint is the power strap. When I am in uphill mode, the power strap slides up and over the cuff and rubs my shin. This is extremely annoying. Has anyone else had this problem? How do you prevent it, besides not having any tension on the power strap?

Thanks!
Danny
2/10/2016
Reply from jbo
 
Hi Danny, lots of folks just ditch the power straps. You could also affix something to the front of the shell to hold it in place. Some velcro or a simple rough surface may be enough.
Comment on this review: