1/19/2016
Question from Aaron O
 
Question on sizing - I am currently in a size 26 /26.5 TLT5 Performance with a 287mm BSL. They fit great - for the Alien, should I size to 287mm (therefore a 27 mondo?) Thanks!
1/19/2016
Answer from jbo
 
Hi Aaron, the BSL is a poor indicator of internal length. If you aren't crammed into the TLT5s, you might fit in the 26 Aliens. Give us a ring to walk through a shell fit on your TLT5s.
1/19/2016
Answer from Aaron O
 
Will do, thanks. Although one other question, if my bindings aren't adjustable, do I need to stick to the BSL or re-drill?
1/19/2016
Answer from jbo
 
You can generally remount a whole size if the ski is reasonably reinforced in the mounting area. Using the same BSL is obviously easier, but note the Alien BSL is usually a bit less than advertised.
Answer this question:

11/5/2015
Question from SlabbyD
 
Considering putting together a really light setup for both winter touring and spring ski mountaineering on PNW volcanoes. Focusing on the Alien due to to the vibram sole and a poor experience with the durability of Dynafits. How does this boot pair with (relatively speaking) moderately-wide skis like the Cho Oyu or Response-X? If you typically ski something in the 180 range should you shorten up a length if using the Alien? Any thoughts on an appropriate ski combo and what one might experience from a boot like this is much appreciated. 175lbs, 5' 11', not an overly aggressive skier.
11/5/2015
Answer from jbo
 
Hi SlabbyD, good questions. The answers are subjective of course, and it depends on whether you tend to use ski boots as a crutch and how much you drive a ski into turns. Your size and target skis are approaching, right near, or over the limit for these boots, depending on your style. The 1.0 version of the Alien can handle this with carbon reinforcements in the lower shell, but this one has a bit more flex. Shortening the ski can help in some circumstances. I am close in size and use both race boots and TLTs on a Response-X 177 in different situations, the latter in tougher conditions.
Answer this question:

3/10/2015
Question from John Burkhart
 
Sizing question: I typically wear a 27 Scarpa TX pro Tele boot that fits well. US street shoe size 10. What size would you recommend? Can't wear too tight of ski boot due to bunion.
3/10/2015
Answer from jbo
 
Hi John, you are borderline and could probably get into the 27 with a little work. Mentioning you can't go tight makes me think 28 is the way to go though.
Answer this question:

2/11/2015
Question from Nick Rosser
 
I'm wearing a 28.5 dynafit Mercury, they fit fine I'm wondering if I could fit into a size 28 with these or should I go up to 29
2/11/2015
Answer from jbo
 
Hi Nick, these run a little short so you will most likely need a 29.
Answer this question:

2/4/2015
Question from Tolbert (hasn't used product)
 
Question - I am looking for something to replace my now defunct F1 EVOs how do the Aliens compare in stiffness and fit?
2/4/2015
Answer from jbo
 
Hi Tolbert, I'd say the width is somewhat similar in those boots, despite being spec'd differently. The Aliens run a bit short so you may need to round up in size (they only come in whole sizes). The Alien 1.0 is stiffer than the EVO, the 0.0 is a little less stiff.
Answer this question:

10/30/2014
by Kerry (used product regularly)
 
The Skimo folks can help you find the right fit. Thanks Jason for the help! Now for critique...I should preface this with, "I'm 90% a Dynafit die hard." I chose the Alien because I needed a race boot to fit feet too big for the PDG/DyNA boot. I wear a 30 with just a touch of extra length in a Dynafit boot. If only Dynafit made race boots in a 30... Anyway, once tried, I fell in love with the Alien and am trying to convince myself I should get the carbon cuffed Alien now. I spent about 15-days on them last year, including some long races (Gothic and GT). They are durable, reliable, extremely light. They have a short sole length making them agile on boot climbs and easy into crampons. I prefer the locking lever on the back of Alien to the Dynafit buckle (TLT-5 is my main boot, similar top buckle to PDG boot). The BOA is low profile, doesn't hit rocks like a standard buckle sometimes does scrambling through exposed talus. The BOA requires occasional re-tensioning during the day/race--easy and quick. The Scarpa plastic is a little more scratch resistant than the TLT-5 plastic (different plastic in TLT-6) in the rocks.
The Scarpa Alien size 30 is just a little shorter than a Dynafit 30; I had to dremmel out a little in front of Alien. The heal/ankle is wider on the Alien than all Dynafit and older Garmont boots I've used. For my boney heals and ankles, I'm still trying to put the right custom fit pad in place to reduce heal slip and race blisters. It will be well worth the effort of tinkering with custom fit.
The liner is an excellent no non-sense race liner. I put a cork bed in mine, primarily in an attempt to pull my toes away from the end.
I recommend customizing the power strap to prevent it from riding above the cuff and rubbing your shin...easily done with Velcro.
Comment on this review:

8/13/2014
by Zachary J (used product a few times)
 
I switched to skiing two seasons ago from snowboarding...

Functionality is great. I thought the locking system looked weird and weak but it is actually very simple, smooth and strong.
Weight - super light...
Comfort - I didn't mold them and did a big summit without any foot problems my first time out - no hot spots even...
I'm a med in foot width. I did fit the TLT 6 without much problem as well but it was a little tighter... I prefer the aliens in shell width...
Flex... I don't know what it is rated but it is pretty stiff and has a power strap. No complaints here...

My boot/stance issue and how these boots helped:

I had a lot of problems find the right boot (imagine that...)... I had a stance issue where I felt very uncomfortable standing in locked position whether locked into skis or just standing on a floor with boots on in locked position... I felt like I was doing a wall sit. My bone structure was awkwardly supporting my body weight while locked in ski mode. I shimmed bindings (toe piece shim 7mm) and messed with foot bed to compensate. I've tried on countless boots, skied in four different brands and even saw a boot fitter... Although I was able to increase the comfort slightly it still was not where I should be... (I haven't skied in an alpine set up yet and have only skied on dynafit Radicals) At the end of the day I am uncomfortable when standing in any AT boots I've tried on in locked position so it is definitely a boot issue...

The Aliens offer a 9 degree lean which is much less than any other touring boot I've found on the market (let me know if there is a lightweight boot with less lean please)... I am in much more of an athletic position in these boots mostly due to the reduced lean (try jumping in ski boots to see how athletic you are in them). I feel more comfortable and it has highly reduced the quad burn i was experiencing when skiing in other boots inlcuding TLT 6, PDG and a pair of Black Diamonds... You may think i'm out of shape or have poor ski form but this is not the case... My body is not structured to be in a forced lean position after not skiing for 17 years and doing many other strength, fitness and sport activities. If this sounds like you then I would highly recommend these boots...

Not quite perfect, but best I've found... so I give 5 stars for price, weight, functionality, and lean!
I would actually prefer a 3 - 6 degree lean boot. I don't understand why touring boots have so much forced lean when locked... If i want lean I will lean...
5/28/2015
Reply from Zachary J
 
Love these boots still.
But...
I was worried about the 4 or 5mm cord and locking device integrity before purchasing... guess what...? on top of Cayambe in Ecuador I went to lock my boot and snap (cord failed)! Luckily I had my ski strap and was aware enough to give it a try (black diamond)... I strapped it around my broken locking system and it held like a champ. Ended up being the best ski decent I've done. Anyhow, quick call to Scarpa and they sent the cord to me a few days later.

Boot are light and stiff. Much better fit for me than TLT6 which I gave a go prior to the Aliens. I highly recommend for price, weight and comfort, but be sure to have a BD ski strap with you which I'm sure you will.
5/28/2015
Reply from jbo
 
I think you mean Skimo straps!
Comment on this review:

7/6/2014
Question from scott
 
Hello,
I was wondering if anyone has any idea how the scarp alien fits in comparison to la sportiva. I use a la sportiva boot as my go to backcountry ski boot, but would love to get a pair of aliens for skimo. I am 27.5 in la sportiva. Should I be sizing up from that for Scarpa? I telemark ski on a Scarpa T1, but that boot is fitted really small for resort skiing (26.5). Any insight would be great. Thanks.
7/6/2014
Answer from jbo
 
Hi Scott. The Aliens run a bit short and also are slightly wider than the Spitfire/Sideral/Starlet. Most likely you would be a 28 in the Alien, which only comes in whole sizes. You might be able squeeze into the 27 with some punching, but it's nice to have room in the toes when striding.
Answer this question:

11/21/2013
by Jack (used product a few times)
 
Nice light boot at a reasonable price. Reasonably stiff, but haven't skied the carbon 1.0 version. Great range of motion. BOA and cuff release work well.
Comment on this review: