4/11/2018
by Pete (used product regularly)
 
Got these at the beginning of the season and have pushed them hard, what an amazing upgrade from my old TLT 5 Ps. Scarpa seems to advertise this as a race boot, but I don't think this is the case, not quite light enough, the ankle articulation isn't quite there, and there is much too much resistance pushing the boot through the articulation for it to be called a true race boot. I think skimo.co makes a good distinction by calling this category "race-plus." Boy for the weight does this boot ski, easily equal to my old TLTs, in my opinion everyone between freeride shredders and racers should be zipping around on these.

Sizing is tighter and narrower than most Scarpa boots, I'm commonly a 27-27.5, I chose a 27 in these, they fit quite nicely but it's definitely a performance fit.

Gaiter is amzingly thought out, and I love that they added a clip for binding tethers. My only complaint is that the cam device used to adjust tightness of the upper eats at the dyneema cable, hasn't failed yet, but is visually core shot. A thought as to how Scarpa could make these better is by using a full carbon upper, retaining the carbon grilamid lower and lining it with weave as in the current 1.0, this would make the boot considerably stiffer and lighter without compromising durability of the lower for scrambling. Perhaps the new 1.0 will fill the ticket.
Comment on this review:

4/7/2018
by Mark E (used product regularly)
 
These Alien RS boots ski astonishingly well for as light as they are. The innovative Boa and upper cuff tightening systems provide for something that feels a bit like a four buckle design in a 2 lb boot. I have fifty days or so of skiing in these boots, and a couple days of ice climbing. No concerns or complaints about durability. Scarpa suggests that these boots are best for skis 85mm or less. I ski these on 84mm skis, but feel that they could comfortably power a bigger ski. A ski partner skis these boots on 95mm skis without complaints.

The boots are a little tight in the toe box, and fit a little bit short. I usually ski a 26.5 ("performance fit") boot, and my size 27 Alien RSs are barely big enough (I have a footbed in the boots to raise my arch and shorten my foot a bit).

Not an ideal boot for ice climbing. The offset toe welt does make the boot natural to walk in and tour in, but might require you to bend your crampons' toe bails to get a snug fit. The ski/walk mode arm interferes with the heel clip on most crampons, meaning you'll need to loosen your crampons to switch between walk/ski mode.

The boots are comfortable and dexterous enough that I have no difficulty driving my manual-transmission Subaru in the boots, and often find myself running errands in town on my way to/from skiing in the boots.

This is a perfect boot for ski mountaineering and any sort of long distance touring. If your objective is moving quickly and confidently on snow in the backcountry, I'd suggest that the Alien RS is a perfect boot.
Comment on this review:

3/29/2018
Question from Peter D
 
Hi there. Was wondering if the Aliens RS can be punched. Of course Scarpa states against that and it would devoid the warranty. Currently skiing 27.5 Dynafit Beast with a small punch for my right foot bunion. Tried the Aliens RS in 28 and got a really good fit except a pressure point in the bunion. It might go with liner molding, but it did not in case of the Dynafits. I would probably need couple of millimeters punched, do you think its doable?
Thanx for advice Peter.
3/30/2018
Answer from eric
 
Peter- Yes the punch would void any warranty on this boot. That said, there is some capability depending on where on the boot it needs to be modified.
Answer this question:

3/25/2018
Question from Jeff
 
I wear a 27.0 in the new Maestrale RS 2.0. What size would that be in the Alien RS?
3/25/2018
Answer from jbo
 
Hi Jeff, SCARPA uses similar lengths across their line of boots, but the widths can vary. The Alien is noticeably narrower than the Maestrale in the same size, but about the same length.
Answer this question:

3/2/2018
Question from James O
 
Has anyone managed to get shorter leashes (like the Dynafit Guide) to work with this boot? I can't find any suitable locations to clip into. I realize the around-the-cuff long B&D brand ones are an option, but I'd like to use something shorter if possible.
3/5/2018
Answer from Trace Leches
 
Hey James! Yeah, totally! I actually use the exact combo you're mentioning. There's a small d-ring riveted into the upper shell that you can girth hitch the steel ring from the Dynafit Guide leash into!
Answer this question:

2/26/2018
Question from Erik
 
Can't quite get used to the 13° max forward lean on these boots. Looking at the clamp in the back for adjusting the forward lean, it looks possible to modify this to get a couple of more degrees in (drilling to offset the holes).
Any ideas if this mod has been done before?
And is it just me, or is the forward lean accually not quite normal on these boots?

Best regards!
2/26/2018
Answer from Trace Leches
 
Hey Erik! Not sure if it's actually been done before but I've had this talk multiple times, including with myself. The forward lean isn't quite where I want it to be either. A less permanent (and potentially warranty voiding) solution would be to put some foam on the back of the cuff of the liner to just bump your lower leg a bit further forward. We've done that many times on these boots before to account for tiny calves or not enough forward lean.
Answer this question:

2/18/2018
Question from Trevor J
 
Thanks for the boots. very well made and impressive in many ways :) what crampons work well with these? any crampon limitations with these boots that you've noticed?
2/20/2018
Answer from Trace Leches
 
Hey Trevor! The Petzl and Camp crampons seem to work really well with the boot, but that's only if you don't plan on putting the boot into ski mode while front-pointing. If you plan on keeping the boot locked and front-pointing, use something like the Grivel SkiMatic 2.0 crampon that levers on via the toe.
Answer this question:

2/11/2018
Question from Lars
 
Hi

I have the Gea RS 2.0 in size 23.0. It is quite narrow for my foot, and I have punched it twice (one time very little, the other time quite a bit). I do have aftermarket foot beds in them. How do you think an Alien RS would fit in size 24.0 compared to the Gea RS 2.0 in size 23? Perhaps the heel hold would be a problem?
2/11/2018
Answer from eric
 
Lars, The first rule of boot fitting is to never go up or down a size shell to make the boot fit. Find the correct length of shell and it either fits or it does not. The Alien Rs is a much narrower boot than the Gea Rs. So if the Gea RS was to narrower than the Alien RS will be worse.
2/20/2018
Answer from Lars B
 
Thanks for your answer! Do you have any suggestion on what to look for for a more wide fit in this segment?
2/20/2018
Answer from jbo
 
Hi Lars, you may have a few options. Best bet is to visit our boot fitter to find out.
Answer this question:

1/19/2018
Question from Troy
 
Does this boot actually have a zippered gaiter? I tried on a pair a couple of days ago and I didn't notice a zipper but now I am seeing a zipper in your photo and a zipper is mentioned on the Scarpa website (as well as your website). Thanks.
1/19/2018
Answer from jbo
 
Hi Troy, the prototype model had a zipper but it was removed for production. Sorry we don't have an updated photo yet, but that is about all that changed.
Answer this question:

1/15/2018
Question from anthony
 
hey, I've had about 15 days in the alien rs in a sz 28. I love them, but I got quite a bit of slop in the fit which I am fairly comfortable skiing with, however I would like to get a different liner to suck up some of the void space. I find the fit around the toes to be narrow and tight (I have a felted superfeet wool insole inside right now) but I have a large amount of heel lift and movement around the calf. I have a 2 finger shell fit at the end of the day of skiing. In conjunction with perhaps some insole shims what liner and thickness would you recommend? Without knowing much it appears like either the powertrack 10 or ultralight performance liners in 7mm may be best? As stated my biggest issues are with heel lift and space around the shin. What are your thoughts (I know its not ideal to give fit recommendations online but im quite a few states away from you guys and have bad experience with some local fitters)? As always, thanks, you guys rule!
1/16/2018
Answer from Nate
 
Hi Anthony, it's a bummer to hear that you are struggling with the fit of your boots. I've fit the Powertrack 10 on a number of customers, and tried it on for my own fit. I think it will be too tight of a fit in the toes for your Alien RS. The 7mm Ultralight Performance liner will likely be too thin.

I have experimented a little bit with the Intuition Pro Tour MV liner in the Alien RS and have found that it could be a workable solution if a person is dealing with too much volume in the calf and heel. You might try that in a size 28. The other option that may work is the Palau Tour Lite Performance liner in a 28, it's a touch thinner than the Intution Pro Tour.

If you haven't already, I'd also suggest making sure you are pulling the string nice and snug before flipping the lever in to ski mode. I've noticed that getting the string tension tight helps to clamp down the lower over the instep just enough to eliminate some heel slop.
Answer this question: