4/13/2015
Question from mike
 
which dynafit toes have the same hole patterns so you don't have to redrill your mounting hole?
4/14/2015
Answer from jbo
 
Hi Mike, check out our table of mounting patterns for this info.
Answer this question:

2/24/2015
Question from David Dorniand
 
Yeah, in case my previous question didn't register when I hit the wrong key there... I'm looking for a replacement toe piece for Dynafit Vertical FT 12 bindings, plus I think I will also need the screws and the plate for under the toe piece that allowed the ski crampon to slip on. What are my chances?
2/24/2015
Answer from jbo
 
Hi David, a combo of the Speed Turn toe and the Vertical FT toe plate would do the trick.
Answer this question:

12/1/2014
by Chris W (used product regularly)
 
Radical toes are, IMO, the standard from which others should be judged. Everything out there seems to be variations of the same thing, with differing spring tension, leverage, and hole patterns, however Dynafit stands alone (to my knowledge) in having side towers. This to me is the best part of building a frankenbinding. Get a heel that suits your purposes and combine it with the best available toes -- at a slight weight penalty over race toes, of course -- for good resistance to lateral jostling that no other toepieces offer.

Wildsnow covers this feature very well, and Lou made a good video of releasing non-side-tower toepeices from lateral jolting. See here and here.
Comment on this review:

9/26/2014
by Jonathan S (used product regularly)
 
Five Stars to Skimo Co for enabling a price-point skimo race binding setup by offering the a la carte Dynafit Speed Radical toe, combined with either the Plum or Kreuzspitze race heels.
Going into the 2014-15 ski season, "normally" priced skimo race boots are now available from three different brands -- all carried by Skimo Co of course -- and I count at least half a dozen normally priced skimo race ski models carried by Skimo Co.
But no binding company offers an entry-level model along the lines of the boots and skis, i.e., a few more trivial ounces of weight at savings of hundreds of dollars.
Yet buy a pair of Dynafit Speed Radical toes combined with either Plum or Kreuzspitze race heels and your setup will cost as little as the least-expensive touring-oriented binding (yet at noticeable weight savings, and with the "half-step" race-style heel elevator plus very low heel > toe "delta").
Or add some fore-aft adjustment via the Plum 165 or one of the Kreuzspitze plates.
(And if you want to lighten up an already drilled touring setup but hesitate to Swiss Cheese your skis, Kreuzspitze even offers a plate that uses the traditional Dynafit heel pattern.)
My personal experience is with a basic Dynafit touring toe and a Plum 135/145 heel, which has worked out fine, even after almost 184,000' earned vertical.
The lateral release value will also probably be a bit lower, given the somewhat lower retention of a regular touring toe (as compared to a race toe with some combination of heavier pincer springs and/or a spring-loaded toe lever), so this Frankenrace approach is a good idea for lighter-weight skiers.
(Just beware that this violates ISMF regs if you have any World Cup racing ambitions!)
Comment on this review:

9/26/2014
Question from Christian
 
Would like to build a lighter franken-tele setup, trying to figure out the implications of the toe-lock situation with respect to the low-tech race toe.

I know that it will automatically go into touring mode (ie - locked) when I step in... what I have been unable to figure out is what the difference in retention is between the low-tech race toe and other tech toes when in *ski* mode (which it has, right? It's just that nobody uses it because racers like their toes locked?). In an existing franken-tele setup I put together with some speed radical toes I find the retention more-or-less perfect when in ski mode, and (presumably) leg-destroying when locked out.

Perhaps I actually want the speed-superlight toe, but automatic locking into touring mode sounds great... plus there's no stock and I'd like to start fiddling before the season really gets rolling...

Any insight?
9/26/2014
Answer from jbo
 
Hi Christian, the LTR is a bit nebulous when it comes to locking because it has a rounded hump and adjustable spring versus clearly segmented toe lever positions. Locking a tech binding toe typically blocks heel release, but the "leg-destroying" mechanics you refer to are quite different if your heel is free, and possibly not applicable. In fact, DIN/ISO 13992 waives all release requirements if your heel can rise from the ski at an angle of at least 45 degrees, e.g. you are going uphill on AT gear.

More practically, telemarking applies different and higher forces on a toe piece than alpine touring. I'm not sure it's the best idea to look for weight savings here, but please let me know if you try! A safer bet is to stick with what works for you and get the Speed Rad toes. Or if they are out of stock, the Radical STs which are mechanically identical.
Answer this question:

9/7/2014
Question from Nick Davies
 
Looking to set up TTS system and wondered if the Speed Radical has a base plate that extends behind the binding. One binding mounting video I watched replaced the Dynafit base plate as it interfered with the mounting block for the heel assembly. From the picture on your site it looks as if the Speed Radical in terms of fore and aft dimensions.

Thanks for any insight,

Nick
9/8/2014
Answer from jbo
 
Hi Nick, the Speed Radical toe does not have a base plate. It's close relatives the Radical ST/FT come with removable plates, which may be what you saw. The Speed is a good option for TTS.
Answer this question:

8/18/2014
Question from Joel
 
Do the Radical ST Toes come with plastic riser plates? Do they come with screws?
8/18/2014
Answer from jbo
 
Hi Joel, Dynafit sells the replacement toe pieces without the plates or screws. Those can be found at this link: parts.
Answer this question:

3/23/2014
Question from Larry
 
Is it possible to order the Speed Radical toe piece? I don't see that option in the pull down.
3/24/2014
Answer from jbo
 
Hi Larry, we are currently out of the Speed Radical toes but we find some more every now and then. FYI the Radical ST toes are mechanically the same. Thanks.
Answer this question:

2/12/2014
by T Beck (used product regularly)
 
I love the Radical toe piece and the ability to swap out the radicals heel unit to a Superlite or Race heel to save weight and drop my ramp angle back to something i prefer.

Very cool offering by skimo.co!
Comment on this review:

1/13/2014
by John B (used product regularly)
 
Well accidentally posted my review as a comment on the previous post. I'll try to regurgitate what I posted above. I have a set of Vertical ST's on my skis and I've been real impressed with the design. Purchasing a Vertical toe may be a good idea as it seems that Dynafit is moving away from the Vertical binding and is focused on adding more weight to the Radical design. A spare toe piece is great for the spart parts box or as part of a repair kit in a multi day traverse. Leave the baseplate at home to save more weight!
Comment on this review: