4/10/2015
by stephan (used product regularly)
 
as an addition, i can give the information about the release values provided by kreutzspitze founder terragnolo bruno, who wrote to me (todate 2014) it is comparable to DIN 8-9 vertical and lateral.
2/27/2017
Reply from Richard S
 
Today, Terragnolo e-mailed me with the following answer: "of course the binding model SCTT does not have an adjustable DIN, we set the internal spring and the length of U spring to have a release force like DIN 10 in both lateral and frontal.
We advise to install the heel with a gap of 6mm from the rear part of the ski boot to obtain the right value of release force.
If you increase this gap (maximum 1mm) you can reduce the release force, but the best solutions is use our adjustable heel model GT."
Comment on this review:

4/10/2015
by stephan (used product regularly)
 
i have like 20000 vertical meters on these bindings now, this is my first conclusion. binding has seen any condition possible. i weight in a 68kg (netto) without gear.
i use them on 3 different skis, an 178/88mm steepski, a 178/75mm touring ski, an my 160/65mm training sticks (rando race ski).
i really like the binding.
i primarly decided for this binding for the reason, there is an additional climbing aid ("coppia alzatacchi") wich can be (i did) mounted on the heelpiece fork (wich i think is just ingeniously constructed), not to be found in any other rando race binding. this may not be an issue or a point of interest for racers, but for ski mountaineers for sure is when you have to carry heavy loads.

first, the binding still works without any issues.

second, the screws (binding-to-bindingplate for dynafit tlt speed pattern on the heelpiece) never ever get loose, wich i think is great news, wich i was initially concerned about. i dont use loctite or anything. the same applies for the additionally climbing aid (screwed to the heelpiecefork).

third, the half-step heelpiece cover is (still) very tight. this is good news for recreational use and for training only in my opinion. nothing rattles.

fourth, i never prereleased in downhill mode (unlocked), but i usually go locked all the time.

fifth: screws are VERY reliable and of good quality. i remounted the binding very often this season, and screws still look like never used!

handling issues/problems:

i experienced in very rare cases, that the lockout came off (went to downhill mode) when downhill skiing. like 2 time maybe. i think this is not a big deal, but maybe the lockout should be revisioned in the next binding version to me more strong. on the other hand, the lockout as it is can be very easily handled without force like in dynafit bindings, this is a plus.

when fast traversing and steep kickturning, it occured a few times that the heelpiece rotated. same here, i think, the heelpiece should be a little bit harder to rotate with more force. less comfort then, but maybe accidential rotation will be prevented.

these are very minor issues in my opinion, and i would recommend the binding to anyone, not only rando racers, over expensive recreational skitouring bindings like dynafits radical st. of course, it is more then twice as expensive as a dynafit speed turn, so this is no comparison.

im very glad i decided for the kreuzspitze sctt, and see no reason to give other bindings a try. i think this is the very best wich can be said of a rando binding.
Comment on this review:

3/9/2015
by David Miller (used product regularly)
 
This was my first race style binding so I do not have much experience comparing them all. I use them for long range trips in Alaska and Central Asia. This binding is flawless. I use Dynafit cable leashes on the toes, and they work fine. I definitely recommend getting the heel risers and crampons too.
I have added some plum race bindings to my gear room since and can say I much prefer the German engineering to the French. Of note the titanium pins will not work with the heel risers. Buy them with steel unless you are a only going to race. But they do swap out easily with a hammer and drift pin.
Comment on this review:

1/31/2015
Question from AMAC
 
Is the hole pattern on the toe pieces the same as for the "classic" Dynafit family of bindings (specifically: Comfort and Tour-Lite-Tech). In other words, can I swap without redrilling? Thank you
2/1/2015
Answer from jbo
 
Hi AMAC, yes the toes can be mounted using the same holes as older Dynafits without redrilling. Note there is no 5th hole so you'd need to plug that.
Answer this question:

11/22/2014
Question from Jham
 
Curious whether there is any semi-reliable spot on the toe for attaching a leash. Hard to tell from the pics...
11/22/2014
Answer from jbo
 
Hi Jham, there isn't a great spot on the toe. Kreuzspitze recommends using the heel fork, after suggesting their brakes of course.
Answer this question:

11/6/2014
Question from Bruno (hasn't used product)
 
I have three questions about this binding. First, when you rotate the heel piece, is there a positive stop at different positions (90 degrees, 180 degrees, and so on)? Second, is there really a flat touring mode? In what position is the heel piece to accommodate flat touring? Last, what is the height in mm of the rear pins? Are they higher or lower than equivalent Dynafit bindings? I am thinking about the angle/ramp/delta of my boot. These look great--thanks.
11/6/2014
Answer from jbo
 
Good questions Bruno. There are four positive stops. 90 degrees in either direction enables flat mode with plenty of room to avoid heel collisions while your ski is flexed. 180 degrees allows you to use the optional riser. Pin height is in the same neighborhood as other race bindings, full details here.
Answer this question:

10/28/2014
Question from Randolph
 
I am curious about the construction of these bindings. How are the steel forks kept in place (i.e. what stops them from sliding back in the heel tower towards then rear of the ski when in ski mode)? I notice that the usual Dynafit style retainer piece that prevents this backwards slide is not visible in the pictures here.
10/28/2014
Answer from jbo
 
Hey Randolph, these use a retainer pin mechanism similar to the Low Tech Race and Plum race bindings. If you punch out the pin, you can replace the fork and you will see there is a groove notched into it that the pin rests in, preventing it from sliding fore and aft.
Answer this question:

10/10/2014
Question from Wanye
 
Is there a release and if so what is the approximate DIN (lateral and vertical) of these and the Trab TR race adjustable bindings?
I am a 130 lb intermediate skier looking for a light binding for touring (likely carrying a full pack and possibly pulling a sled) but want to keep my knees intact during falls.
10/10/2014
Answer from jbo
 
Hi Wayne, yes, the SCTT features both lateral and vertical release mechanisms similar to other tech bindings. The vertical release works by allowing heel pins to be forced apart, letting your boot slide through. The heel tower spins in both directions for a twisting release at the heel, though like most tech bindings is not certified to DIN standards (which were written with lateral toe release in mind). This has some interesting (positive) implications on your knees compared to certified alpine bindings, the basic design of which does not have knees in mind (only tibias). The full bio-mechanical discussion is beyond the scope of this comment, but happy to discuss further via e-mail. Also if you put your vitals into our binding finder we can help steer you towards a release strength that makes sense for you.
Answer this question:

4/24/2014
by Joseph B (used product regularly)
 
I got these a while ago and mounted them on some 174 Dynafit Cho Oyus. GREAT bindings. Super well made and they work as well as I could have hoped. I particularly like the fact that I can use a flat, middle or high rise (with the cool accessory heel risers) heel position for flats and climbing, something that no other AT race binding that I'm aware of will let you do. I also purchased the optional crampon attachment pieces which are works of art, as are the rest of these bindings. So far I haven't found ANY drawbacks, except for learning how to properly pronounce Kreuzspitze in German. Now I even have that mastered!
Comment on this review: