2/4/2018
by Pete (downright abused product)
 
The old classics, decently light for starting out and reliable workhorses. The unbreakable Dynafit toe piece, paired with adjustable release values, and multiple heel risers, can't go wrong with these.

Pushed these hard enough that the toe pins rounded off to such a degree I was worried about release from my toe while skiing, never actually released so perhaps not a problem.

As these things wear the heels begin to turn under the weight of your boot while skinning, slipping from walk into ski mode. This can be quite aggravating especially on steep icy sections, fixed by replacing the plastic bearing inside the heel tower, or my recommendation, mounting your skis with Maruelli anti-twist plates: https://skimo.co/maruelli-binding-parts. (Work wonders and lighten the binding up).
Comment on this review:

12/16/2017
Question from Angus
 
Do the Speed Radicals have the same mounting pattern as the Vertical FT’s as I’m wanting to swap to a lighter binding with a lower DIN?
12/17/2017
Answer from Trace Leches
 
Hey Angus, thanks for reaching out! In the toe, no. In the heel, yes! We have a whole article dedicated to the hole patterns here! The heel should be able to pop into the old holes just fine, whereas the toe will be able to re-use two of the existing holes (you can choose front or back) and then you'll have to drill two other holes.
Answer this question:

12/2/2017
Question from Adam
 
Is there a compatible brake that I can add on? I have had two leashes break on me now.
12/2/2017
Answer from jbo
 
Hi Adam, there is no brake designed to work with the Speed Radical. You could add a universal brake such as the Kreuzspitze, but it needs to be removed for skinning.
Answer this question:

7/5/2017
by Tys (used product regularly)
 
I bought a pair of these to throw on a pair of Atomic Tacoras for summer and early winter skiing. I also have a pair on my Voile V6s. So far I've had the chance to use 'em on perfect corn, slush, avalanche debris, and even some pencil/knife hard couloir snow, and they have kept me securely attached to my skis. No prereleases yet, they drive my old non-rockered skis well, and I think they are a great balance of weight, durability, and features. I also like the added heel anti-rotation stopper. Unless you are doing some regular resort skiing and need brakes, or dropping cliff bands and need some serious retention, look no further.
Comment on this review:

2/18/2017
Question from Kelly
 
Do any of the current Dynafit bindings use the 5 hole mount? My 15 year old dynafit bindings are no longer passing safety checks, but I like my skis, wondering if I can just get new bindings that would fit in the same holes or whether I'm stuck looking for new skis too.
2/18/2017
Answer from jbo
 
Hi Kelly, no current Dynafit bindings have that pattern, but some other brands do, e.g. Plum. You can also plug a couple holes and drill a couple new ones for the latest Dynafits.
Answer this question:

2/10/2017
Question from Kevin
 
On a recent multiday tour, both toe piece plastic levers broke. Is there a fix with a more robust part?
2/11/2017
Answer from jbo
 
Hi Kevin, the stock toe levers are all that's available. They are easily replaceable and that is something Dynafit warranties if there was no abuse.
Answer this question:

12/16/2016
Question from sarah
 
Hello,
I have the fischer transalp 88 skis and transalp ts lite boots and am looking for a binding for tours and some back country skiing. I am not a racer, so weight is not a huge issue, although light is good.... with that said, would the dynafit speed radical be a good fit? Was also looking at superlight white, but it seems that it's only a half pound of weight shedded and costs $150 more, any other significant differences
12/16/2016
Answer from jbo
 
Hi Sarah, the Speed Rad would be a decent option for that setup; it's fully featured and reliable. The Superlite would save you some grams at the cost of a fixed vertical release and no BSL adjustment (can't adjust for different boots).
Answer this question:

11/22/2016
Question from RMC
 
Is skier weight a consideration with these at all, other than DIN setting? Should heavier skiers move towards the ST/FT? I like the leash concept and weight savings but am concerned with durability, drive-ability, etc.
11/22/2016
Answer from jbo
 
Hi RMC, there is no published skier weight limit, and the latest iteration seems to be holding up well. The ST/FT 1.0s are the same construction so not any stronger, though the ST/FT 2.0s are noticeably beefed up. You could also check out the G3 ION LT 12 which is a bit beefier yet still light sans brakes.
Answer this question:

5/2/2016
by Jim (used product regularly)
 
I paired these with the Movement Sweet Apple skis for my girlfriend. Over two seasons, she has toured on them regularly and used them at the resort maybe 10 times with no issues at all. (She weighs 105 lbs and is not an aggressive skier.) They are not the absolute lightest, but the combination of weight, function and price is hard to beat. Another reason I chose these for her, and not a race binding, is that she needs a very low release setting, and these go down to 4. She skis them on a 4 or 5, and they have released when needed, without pre-releasing. Small people take note.
The adjustable heel is also handy for boot changes without remounting, as happened when her F1 Evos were recalled.
Comment on this review:

4/2/2016
by lance j (used product regularly)
 
I have been on Dynafit bindings since I began skiing a couple years ago. The first set was the Radical ST, so I felt good about changing to the Speed Radical when I got some new skis because I preferred using a leash to brakes when in the backcountry, and the fact that the Radical lets you skin with your boot flat to the ski as well.

A year on, I have been reasonably happy with the Speed Radical bindings. There is nothing that stands out to me as a drawback to them other than the weight (I recently purchased the Superlight 2.0 and that binding has changed my mind about binding weight...).

It seems that the rotation pin has been a problem in the past (I have the 15-16 model), but I haven't had any issues with them. Also, I've had no problems with the 'rotation issue' so far, but have spent more time area skiing this winter because my son has been learning to ski as well.

All in all, it the Speed Radical has been a solid binding for me. I'm certainly interested in the Plum Guide and the G3 Ion, but until I get some new skis, there doesn't seem to be any reason to mess with something that works - which the SR does...
Comment on this review: