9/30/2016
Question from Jason
 
Hey Skimo,

Looking at these as a new training boot.
I am a perfect fit in La Sportiva Specter 25.5. My old boots for this purpose were Garmont Masterlites also a 25.5.
I'd like room for a medium/ heavy sock for colder days (fit in my Specters but not the Masterlites).
What do ya think? 25.5 or 26?
9/30/2016
Answer from jbo
 
Hi Jason, ahh Masterlites! You should be good in the size 25.5 PDG.
10/17/2016
Answer from Alexandre B
 
Hi Jason,
did you purchase the boots? in witch size?
My girlfriend had TLT5s before and apparently there were 25.5 (in her Memory but she doesn't have them anymore), but we measured and her foot is 24cm long.
She would like to buy the PDG but now she doesn't know what size to order now.
What is your foot size?
Answer this question:

9/29/2016
Question from michael
 
the price is for one boot ?
9/29/2016
Answer from jbo
 
Hi Michael, the price is just for the left boot but we throw in the right one for free :P
Answer this question:

9/23/2016
Question from Carl
 
Hello Skimo,

I have always wanted to try this boot but this is the first year with a size 30. How does the fit compare to the old tlt5 mountains in a 30?
9/23/2016
Answer from jbo
 
Hi Carl, the PDG 30s are a few mm wider and a few mm shorter than the TLT5 30s.
Answer this question:

3/15/2016
Question from aaron
 
I'm so out of date on boots and no one around here uses skimo boots. How does ski performance compare between these and the Scarpa F3s I am currently skiing? At the time the F3s were my best option for weight and performance, but I'm guessing that modern PDGs likely best the F3s in weight, hiking and downhill performance.

I'm contemplating these as my go to ski touring boot biased towards light and long. I grew up parallel turning on leather boots and cable tele bindings so I assume these are a massive step up.
3/16/2016
Answer from jbo
 
Hi Aaron, weight and hiking is no question improved. Downhill performance might be tossup. What you lose from all the buckles and thicker liner is gained by lack of bellows and relatively stiff fiberglass cuff. Obviously a step up from leather :)
Answer this question:

2/21/2016
by Karl (downright abused product)
 
Never skiing a traditional alpine boot again. Although I may get a beefier non-race ski mo model, the low weight, incredible range of motion in walk mode, super slick one lever transition to ski mode, and just as rigid (as I've ever skied) as an alpine boot, and I see no reason to use a "normal" boot even for resorts.
Prior to buying these I used a pair of Scarpa Matrix and Scarpa F1's for skinning. Both gave me either hot spots on the shin or near the ankle. Neither had great motion but it was what I knew so I really didn't know.
Specific to skinning up and the little ski mo racing I recently did, they continue to amaze. The flexibility makes the one choice post on the dynafit low tech bindings I chose (PDG skis also) completely adequate in all but the steepest pitches. Paired with a pair of stirrup pants with cut outs, they feel just as comfortable and secure in uphill mode as my Nordic skate boots and not all that much heavier.
They are a bit narrow as I have a somewhat wide toe box. I was already having some nerve pain in my toe prior with my bike shoes in summer and they aggravate it a bit, but nothing that a boot fitter, a metatarsal pad, and a bump out can't fix. They didn't cause it. Just reminded me that solid non-flexing soles aggravate what I already had. However, this was after skiing them in a ski mo race in the AM and then all day after skiing with my wife. Foot likely a bit swollen from a long day in them. They are surprisingly comfortable for such a minimal boot though.
As for downhill, they lock seamlessly and are super solid. As an avid Nordic racer, my bar for support is low, so please take that caveat. I'm used to opening it up with a lot less. So this boot with a locked in heel makes me feel unstoppable on fast groomers. On anything else, it's user error. My skills in hard snow black moguls, trees, and chutes is mediocre at best.
In a nut shell, I ski as well in these as I DID (seriously I'm NOT going back!) in my traditional alpine boots.
Buy them!!
Thanks also to the staff whom I called when I got these. They felt tight so he walked me through it all on the phone. They've "packed out" as promised and are quite comfortable.
Comment on this review:

1/31/2016
Question from Ryan Hokanson
 
Any updates on Dynafit making a size 30? Seems like it's listed everywhere I look but I have yet to actually find one
1/31/2016
Answer from jbo
 
Hi Ryan, size 30s will be available in the US starting in the 2016/17 season. In the meantime, look for Syborgs and Aliens.
Answer this question:

1/15/2016
Question from Tyler
 
I am just getting into the lightweight scene, I currently wear a 26.5 Rossignol AllTrack Pro 100 (2014) what size would you recommend for the PDGs? Thanks!
1/15/2016
Answer from Tyler J
 
I wear a size 10 US shoe as well. Thanks
1/15/2016
Answer from jbo
 
Hi Tyler, lengthwise it's likely you could get a performance fit in a 27.0. If you'd like a more accurate analysis, visit our boot fitter.
Answer this question:

12/2/2015
Question from Scooter
 
Do you think this book can drive 75mm underfoot on a 170-175cm ski? 85mm underfoot?
12/3/2015
Answer from jbo
 
Hi Scooter, a ski like that is within the range of this boot. You may not be able to "drive" it as much as with beefier boots, but you can certainly ski it.
Answer this question:

11/14/2015
Question from Ted
 
Do these have more instep room than tlt5's? I have a narrow bony foot with a high instep. Any recommendations for a boot in this class that fits slim with a high instep?
Thanks
11/14/2015
Answer from jbo
 
Hi Ted, yes these are more roomy that TLT5s. With the thinner liner, they even feel a bit bigger internally than TLT6s. None of these boots have a ton of plastic on top of the instep so are fairly accommodating there. PDG seems good there, Syborg might be the highest and the Alien has a BOA that can adapt to various heights.
Answer this question:

1/30/2015
by Oliver B (downright abused product)
 
I chose these as my first dedicated racing/training boot because of the good price point as well as decent feedback.

Since early december I've put about 20,000 meters on these guys and skied 18 days.

I come from a downhill/slalom skiing background, am about 5'9'', and weight about 150 pounds.... so just keep that in mind for my review.

Uphill: These boots are fantastic for the up. Great range of motion, strong and durable sole for climbing and walking on crud, and a solid overall comfort. At first I did notice some pain in my arches, but with some fiddling with the buckles and a new insole all of that was fixed.

Downhill: The downhill is ok... The boots are not very stiff and feel a bit like a floppy noodle at high speed. Mind you, I'm used to the stiffness of Slalom boots.. so take my opinion with a grain of salt. The maneuverability is fantastic though, very responsive.

Transition: The locking mechanism is great. I cant compare it to a vertical system because I have never used it, but I have no issues with quick transitions and locking out successfully. The quick step in system works as advertised as well, preventing ice building and reducing the general stress of fiddling with tiny bindings!

Overall: Solid entry level racing boot. Very durable with almost no wear and tear. Smooth on the up and nimble on the down. If you come from a a ski race background you will have to get used to the higher flex, but after a while its not an issue.
Comment on this review: