1/7/2015
Question from Andrew
 
Can anyone comment/verify if the new "Evo 2.0 sole" on both the 2014/15 PDG and EVO boots is more durable than prior year(s)?

link to TGR discussion on the issue - http://www.tetongravity.com/forums/showthread.php/267374-Dynafit-DY-N-A-PDG-Boots

Am looking at these boots versus Alien and Alien 1.0 (with relatively burly Vibram soles) but would be using them more so for lightweight ski mountaineering than purely racing so sole durability on rocks, dirt, etc. is important to me.

Thanks.
1/7/2015
Answer from jbo
 
I say we send a pair to Jonathan and make him repeat the test! I didn't have much of a problem with my PDGs after a season of racing and mountaineering. Not much more wear than my TLTs. Note he was using Dy.N.A.s and not PDGs. This might just end up as a great mystery in skimo history.
7/18/2015
Answer from Jonathan S
 
See my review of the 2014-15 DyNA for details. But overall the new Dynafit race soles seem to be okay now. Definitely nothing like previously. Although the Alien sole still wins for stunningly impressive durability.
Answer this question:

1/6/2015
by Zach (used product a few times)
 
I just got these at Christmas and have loved them for the first 3-4 ski days! They are my first lightweight boot and I think I am in love. Very comfortable and lots of ankle articulation on the way up. Then surprisingly stiff on the way down. I've mainly been on groomers and ideal conditions and they work great for that. I hope to try in some powder (once we get some) soon to see if I need gators. They were comfortable out of the box. Once Thermo molded they are like slippers. I look forward to racing and adventuring on these boots. So far they are amazing for the money spent! Thanks wifey for the great gift!
Comment on this review:

12/1/2014
by Chris W (hasn't used product)
 
This is my only review for a product I don't own, so take my impressions accordingly...

The Dynafit PDG boot is by far my favorite of the many skimo boots I spent considerable time trying on. I tried both these and the more expensive carbon-fiber cuff model, in a few different sizes over an hour or two. First off, the weight is very impressive. Light weight in these boots is likely a function of thin liners with spandex-like ankle flex sections, and low shell volume (look at BSL vs mondo size). That said, I felt like I could get away with at least a half size smaller than my nominal size. They felt solid, thoughtfully designed, and lighter than similar stripped-down, non-exotic-materials rando race boots.

Eventually I got the LaSportiva Sideral at a price I couldn't refuse, but they are worse in every way than the Dynafit PDG; heavier, less durable, more flex, and worse fit. Still totally usable, but I was surprised at the difference between the two products -- especially considering their similarities of purpose and price.
Comment on this review:

11/9/2014
by Jesse M (used product regularly)
 
I have had these boots for a little over one season and used them at least weekly for training, a few races, downhill days at the ski hill, a 45 mile day and skiing a 14er which included booting the entire approach.

PROS:
-The boots are very comfortable and I have had no issues with cold feet even though I can be prone to them in certain conditions. I have a low volume foot and with shims and a thick insole, these boots fit well. I wear a euro 44 to 45 running shoe and the mondo 28 was a perfect fit. This included a 45 mile day in them with no hot spots or other complaints.
-The range of motion on uphills and stiffness on downhills is wonderful.
-The boots are fast to transition from up to down modes and vice versa.
-These boots certainly don't hold me back even on technical up or down hill endeavors. They also perform well in powder, bumps, crust etc.
-Durability seems really good for such a light boot. I have plenty of scratches and some small chunks off the rubber sole but all lugs are there, no play in the rivets, etc. I had to add some Shoe Goo to the little bit of waterproof fabric that runs under the lower buckle since I place my ski tail there to apply skins and it got worn. NBD.

CONS:
-The lower buckle routinely pops open when postholing.
-The exposed liners accumulate snow unless you have your fancy spandex suit with stirrups on (not sure how much of a con this is or just fact of life/justification for more lycra?)
-The side swinging top buckle is somewhat less "ergonomic" to flip compared to vertically oriented buckles and also catches on rocks when doing things like the Guide's Ridge portion of the Crested Butte skimo course or picking your way through tall boulders. While I was pretty mindful of this, I could see where it could mangle the buckle hinge pretty bad. This type of stuff is not usually encountered by me so on 95% of all terrain I encounter there are no issues.

OVERALL:
Well designed but not perfect. A great boot for racing, logging miles and driving small to medium (88 under foot??) skis. I like them best with a skimo suit so no snow gets in but the snow, even on powder days is not really a bother. I will likely continue to use these as my only ski boot until they fail and that is probably gonna be a while.
Comment on this review:

11/2/2014
Question from Dave de la Parra
 
Hi,
I was wondering if you will be carrying these in a 30.0 or 29.5 (I'm in a 30 in the tlt5)

Thanks,
Dave
11/2/2014
Answer from jbo
 
Hi Dave, unfortunately Dynafit only makes these up to 29.0. Too bad because you'd probably be spot on for a 29.5. I'd check out the Sportiva Syborg which appears to have the same sizing as the Dynafit (but goes to 30), or a SCARPA Alien size 30.
11/1/2015
Answer from Alexandre B
 
I know I'm only answering 1 year later but as I saw on the Dynafit webpage the Evo and PDG are available up to size 30 (from 2015 models)
Answer this question:

7/19/2014
Question from Rob
 
I wear a size 29.5 in a TLT 6. Would be able to squeeze into the PDG 29.0?
7/19/2014
Answer from jbo
 
Hey Rob, it's possible if you aren't squeezed into the TLT (i.e. you didn't need to mold the toe for extra room). The PDG shell is about half a centimeter shorter on the interior than the TLT, but with the thinner liner its almost a wash. For reference, I had to size up in the TLT but wear my normal size in the PDG, so I have a half size difference as well (TLT 28 vs PDG 27.5).
9/28/2014
Answer from Jonathan S
 
I had a similar situation buying the PDG's EVO sibling sight unseen, after having used the TLT6's TLT5 predecessor.
In the TLT5, I had the 26.0/26.5 (same shell and liner, just thicker throwaway footbed in the "smaller" half size).
In the EVO, I bought the 25.5/26.0 (ditto on the fictional half size).
Two of my buddies who did the same thing couldn't sense any difference in interior length despite the 8mm shorter bsl.
But given that I was close to maxing out the interior length on the TLT5, I could definitely sense the shorter interior length -- although as JBO notes, it's more like only ~5mm shorter inside, not the full 8mm shorter bsl.
Fortunately in my vintage of the EVO, the liner had an excessive amount (relatively speaking) of foam at the top of the toebox, so my boot guy was able to carve out (literally) some extra space for my big toes.
Answer this question:

2/25/2014
by Justin (used product a few times)
 
Lots of positive reviews on the PDG all over the web and I totally agree. This boot is amazingly stiff, super light, with incredible articulation, and a fair price. I'm skiing them with Hagen ascents and the systems ski great! I've skied powder, chunder/crud, refroze- chunder,upside down slop, ice, and on some groomers and this setup rules. I'm very impressed!

Ordering boots online is definitely sub-optimal, but skimo was great. They sent Scarpa Alien and these in a 26, I found the PDG a better fit for my foot. FYI-My foot measures a 26 on a Salmon bannock device, and is said to be medium volume with a medium arch.

Quick disclaimer: I'm newly converted and I don't have any other "light gear" to compare.
Comment on this review:

2/23/2014
by Andy (used product regularly)
 
These boots are incredibly light and ski surprisingly well for their weight. I have used them with the Movement Goldfish-X in conditions from 10F-40F, rolling backcountry terrain to steep (~40 degree) slopes. I love the articulation, even better than my TLT5P, and the cuff gets pretty stiff when skiing down, comparable to my TLT5P without the tongue.

My one gripe is that the liner is not quite enough to keep my feet warm under 20F even while moving quickly, but I think my feet get cold easier than many. I've experimented with the swapping of liners from my TLT5P and red superfeet with slightly warmer success.

I wear a softshell pant with these boots that has an internal gaiter which I slide underneath the bottom buckle to prevent snow from sneaking in between the boot and liner. This system has worked great for touring, even in powder, and I have yet to get any snow inside the boot.
Comment on this review:

2/12/2014
by T Beck (used product regularly)
 
These are my first true race boot and i have loved them.

Not quite as warm and comfy as my TLT5P (cant believe i wrote that) but a great all around lightweight performer. They ski similarly to the TLT5 without the tongue stiffners. The ankle articulation is amazing and the transition from skinning to skiing is super simple.

I have also really enjoyed them for long days in the mountains paired with a smaller touring ski.
Comment on this review:

1/3/2014
Question from dub_xion
 
I'm curious what (or if) people use for a gaiter on these. Interested using these more for a long day (or even multi-day) touring boot with a little skimo racing thrown in (more for training, though). Just have some concerns about moisture getting in, or maybe I should look to some TLTs or Spitfires? Thanks!
1/3/2014
Answer from jbo
 
Hi Christian, not many people use gaiters on these. There can be some snow accumulation on the liners, but they tend to be thick enough to prevent a lot of snow from melting and soaking the liner. I use them for long tours in the Wasatch without much of a problem. That said, technically these are a race boot and Dynafit recommends the TLT6 for more general ski mountaineering. The Spitfires are also full coverage like the TLT6, and the Scarpa Alien has a new sheathing this year to prevent snow buildup on the liner (and also has an optional gaiter), so yes, those would also be good options.
Answer this question: