11/2/2014
Question from Dave de la Parra
 
Hi,
I was wondering if you will be carrying these in a 30.0 or 29.5 (I'm in a 30 in the tlt5)

Thanks,
Dave
11/2/2014
Answer from jbo
 
Hi Dave, unfortunately Dynafit only makes these up to 29.0. Too bad because you'd probably be spot on for a 29.5. I'd check out the Sportiva Syborg which appears to have the same sizing as the Dynafit (but goes to 30), or a SCARPA Alien size 30.
11/1/2015
Answer from Alexandre B
 
I know I'm only answering 1 year later but as I saw on the Dynafit webpage the Evo and PDG are available up to size 30 (from 2015 models)
Answer this question:

7/19/2014
Question from Rob
 
I wear a size 29.5 in a TLT 6. Would be able to squeeze into the PDG 29.0?
7/19/2014
Answer from jbo
 
Hey Rob, it's possible if you aren't squeezed into the TLT (i.e. you didn't need to mold the toe for extra room). The PDG shell is about half a centimeter shorter on the interior than the TLT, but with the thinner liner its almost a wash. For reference, I had to size up in the TLT but wear my normal size in the PDG, so I have a half size difference as well (TLT 28 vs PDG 27.5).
9/28/2014
Answer from Jonathan S
 
I had a similar situation buying the PDG's EVO sibling sight unseen, after having used the TLT6's TLT5 predecessor.
In the TLT5, I had the 26.0/26.5 (same shell and liner, just thicker throwaway footbed in the "smaller" half size).
In the EVO, I bought the 25.5/26.0 (ditto on the fictional half size).
Two of my buddies who did the same thing couldn't sense any difference in interior length despite the 8mm shorter bsl.
But given that I was close to maxing out the interior length on the TLT5, I could definitely sense the shorter interior length -- although as JBO notes, it's more like only ~5mm shorter inside, not the full 8mm shorter bsl.
Fortunately in my vintage of the EVO, the liner had an excessive amount (relatively speaking) of foam at the top of the toebox, so my boot guy was able to carve out (literally) some extra space for my big toes.
Answer this question:

2/25/2014
by Justin (used product a few times)
 
Lots of positive reviews on the PDG all over the web and I totally agree. This boot is amazingly stiff, super light, with incredible articulation, and a fair price. I'm skiing them with Hagen ascents and the systems ski great! I've skied powder, chunder/crud, refroze- chunder,upside down slop, ice, and on some groomers and this setup rules. I'm very impressed!

Ordering boots online is definitely sub-optimal, but skimo was great. They sent Scarpa Alien and these in a 26, I found the PDG a better fit for my foot. FYI-My foot measures a 26 on a Salmon bannock device, and is said to be medium volume with a medium arch.

Quick disclaimer: I'm newly converted and I don't have any other "light gear" to compare.
Comment on this review:

2/23/2014
by Andy (used product regularly)
 
These boots are incredibly light and ski surprisingly well for their weight. I have used them with the Movement Goldfish-X in conditions from 10F-40F, rolling backcountry terrain to steep (~40 degree) slopes. I love the articulation, even better than my TLT5P, and the cuff gets pretty stiff when skiing down, comparable to my TLT5P without the tongue.

My one gripe is that the liner is not quite enough to keep my feet warm under 20F even while moving quickly, but I think my feet get cold easier than many. I've experimented with the swapping of liners from my TLT5P and red superfeet with slightly warmer success.

I wear a softshell pant with these boots that has an internal gaiter which I slide underneath the bottom buckle to prevent snow from sneaking in between the boot and liner. This system has worked great for touring, even in powder, and I have yet to get any snow inside the boot.
Comment on this review:

2/12/2014
by T Beck (used product regularly)
 
These are my first true race boot and i have loved them.

Not quite as warm and comfy as my TLT5P (cant believe i wrote that) but a great all around lightweight performer. They ski similarly to the TLT5 without the tongue stiffners. The ankle articulation is amazing and the transition from skinning to skiing is super simple.

I have also really enjoyed them for long days in the mountains paired with a smaller touring ski.
Comment on this review:

1/3/2014
Question from dub_xion
 
I'm curious what (or if) people use for a gaiter on these. Interested using these more for a long day (or even multi-day) touring boot with a little skimo racing thrown in (more for training, though). Just have some concerns about moisture getting in, or maybe I should look to some TLTs or Spitfires? Thanks!
1/3/2014
Answer from jbo
 
Hi Christian, not many people use gaiters on these. There can be some snow accumulation on the liners, but they tend to be thick enough to prevent a lot of snow from melting and soaking the liner. I use them for long tours in the Wasatch without much of a problem. That said, technically these are a race boot and Dynafit recommends the TLT6 for more general ski mountaineering. The Spitfires are also full coverage like the TLT6, and the Scarpa Alien has a new sheathing this year to prevent snow buildup on the liner (and also has an optional gaiter), so yes, those would also be good options.
Answer this question:

10/2/2013
by Layne C (downright abused product)
 
The PDG is a great boot. I've used them with 163 Atomic Ultimates, Dynafit Broad Peak 167s, and 181 Voile Chargers (only on a real powder day though). Anything <80mm waisted skis, the PDG will drive well. For the price, you really can't beat this for a race/lightweight touring boot.

My likes:
-The walk mode is incredible! I have the TLT 5 Mountain, and the PDG blows it away. Forward flex for skinning is really good. It is pretty resistance free both fore and aft. At least as far as my ankles can move comfortably. The Aliens are probably even better, but the PDG is pretty adequate as well.

-They are really light. I could tell a noticeable difference in the weight. Listed weight is 790 grams or about a full pound lighter than my TLT 5s. I don't have a gram scale though so I can't say what the actual weight is.

-They are pretty comfortable right out of the box. I had to do NOTHING for the PDGs to feel comfy.

-They are STIFF! I saw someone on the interwebs say they heard the PDG to be "in the same realm of stiffness as the old F1s." No way--these babies are a little stiffer than my Mountains (without tongue). That surprised me.

-I like the color.
Comment on this review: