1/13/2018
Question from Kamil
 
Hey. I'm really interested in these boots vs Scarpa Aline RS. Do you have your own comparison between the two? What is the last of Fischer's sole? Scarpas have 99mm.
Will be grateful for any further hints.

Kamil
1/13/2018
Answer from jbo
 
Hi Kamil, yes we have a fit profile worked up for all the boots on the site. The Fischer is noticeably wider than the Aliens, and has different length sizing. Visit our boot fitter for a detailed workup.
Answer this question:

1/6/2018
Question from johnee
 
Greetings,

What is the sole length of the 26.5?

-j
1/6/2018
Answer from jbo
 
Hi Johnee, it is 286mm.
Answer this question:

1/5/2018
Question from Bob
 
Will the Fischer Travers release appropriately from the Vipec 12 Black bindings? Not the new Tectron
1/5/2018
Answer from Nate
 
Hi Bob, from what we have seen working with the Fischer Travers and the Vipec bindings, there should not be a problem with this boot releasing from the Vipec appropriately.
Answer this question:

12/10/2017
Question from Luke
 
Hi,

I ski a 26.5 in a Black Diamond Quadrant and am looking to upgrade to a lighter setup and eying the Travers. Will their sizing be consistent with Black Diamond? I had the toe-box slightly expanded in the Quadrants (I generally lean towards adding volume to a smaller boot). Thanks!
12/11/2017
Answer from Trace Leches
 
Hey Luke! Yeah, sizing sounds like it'd be the same between the two boots!
12/11/2017
Answer from jbo
 
Hi Luke, lengthwise they are similar but the BD is a wider boot. You could slightly expand the Fischers as well, but I'm guessing a 27 might fit a bit better out of the box. For more details, visit our boot fitter.
Answer this question:

12/5/2017
Question from Richard S
 
Is the entire cuff made from carbon fiber (so it is difficult to punch or bend outwards)?
12/5/2017
Answer from jbo
 
Hi Richard, it sure isn't! It's plastic and punchable.
Answer this question:

9/26/2017
by Land H (used product regularly)
 
I used these boots throughout winter 2017, probably ~130k of vert and many days and hours, including a couple of hut trips in Idaho, a bunch of Utah powder days, even the Powderkeg. Can't say I abused them by trying to do rocky ridge traverses and mixed climbs or anything, but I did walk about 5 miles of City Creek pavement in them once.

For reference, I ski in tecnica inferno 130 boots in the resort and have previously used Mercuries, ONE's and the Maestrale RS for touring. In all those boots, I've used intuition liners and custom footbeds.
Touring on Voile Vectors 180 with Superlight 2.0.

FIT:
Maybe I got very lucky on these, but it's the only pair of ski boots I've ever had that did not require any fit modifications. In all my other boots, I've had issues with width and instep height, so I would imagine that this boot is fairly wide in the forefoot and the BOA system is forgiving on the instep. The heel hold when the liner is new is fantastic and, even now that the liner is pretty packed out and showing signs of wear, is still good. I do wish the cuff could be tighter, the buckle power strap design limits the amount of velcro you can pull through and I have it on max tight all the time, but I'm used to cranked down alpine boots and I like to ski the front of the boot if that makes sense. I would like it if they had an extra molded spot to move the buckle.

DESIGN:
The Palau liner is very thin, light and flexible and is perfect for this boot IMO. That said, it has worn quickly, to the point that I have thought about trying to get a new set. The gaiter system is a tad fussy, but I haven't had any issues with snow intrusion and it makes the walk mode much more free. The BOA system works very well, I can crank it down and achieve a close fit without pressure points. I think this contributes to the great heel hold. Zero reliability issues. Ski/walk mechanism is a simple solution that works really well. I see no reason for the more complex mechanisms in some boots. There is a tiny bit of play in ski mode that I notice on the bench, but it doesn't bother me when skiing. The cuff buckle/power strap has a really nice long throw that enables you to leave the power strap tight, unbuckle for full range of motion and buckle to ski. No fuss, no problem.

TOURABILITY:
Empowering! I think the range of motion is better than the hiking boots I have to wear all summer. I've never used race boots, but these have got to be close. I've tried on F1s and TLTs and they don't come close to the Fischers. I barely use my heel risers now. Transitions are pretty much fuss free, with just two easy lever throws per boot. Would be cool if they had a one lever action a la race boots, but no big deal. Like I said, I walked about 5 miles of pavement in them with no issues (other than my burning desire for Domino's, but that had nothing to do with the boots). Also, they are very warm, possibly due mostly to the good fit, but my feet haven't gotten cold anytime other than a zero degree dawn patrol. And that was probably due to some sensitivity from a bit of recent frostbite.

SKIABILITY:
These aren't powerhouse stiff boots, but they do feel intuitive, skiable and confidence inspiring. I don't go out into the backcountry to crush crud and rail groomers anyway. The upright forward lean is one of the reasons I bought these, having had issues with ramp and lean on past setups and it works well. Combined with a nice, easy ski like the vector, I think I ski better and more confidently in these boots than on my past setups (huascarans and mercuries). The torsionally stiff sole and the "duck-foot stance" thing mentioned above might be beneficial here, but I can't really tell enough to say. All I can say is that they ski well enough that I wouldn't hesitate to use them on any terrain. I wouldn't be charging, but I could make a nice turn and be in total control.

DURABILITY:
No issues here, other than the liner packing out, which doesn't really affect the performance of the boot very much. Sole shows basically no wear, but I haven't done hardly any rocky bootpacking stuff. Seems to me it would hold up well.

Bottom line, for me, backcountry gear should be intuitive, light and reliable and these check all these boxes in spades. I never think about them when I'm touring, they just work.
Comment on this review:

5/19/2017
by bmac (used product regularly)
 
I've had these now for about 6 weeks but have already put nearly 150k of vert on them thanks to a perfect spring in New England and a 2 week trip to Norway. So I've had the chance to use them in nearly every type of snow, and have skied them with Hagan Ultras and the Fischer Hannibal 94s and 100s. They drive the bigger skis surprisingly well even in challenging conditions (hot pow, crust, etc). The full gaiter is awesome and the boa cinches evenly and snuggly. The power strap and ski/walk lock are beautifully simple and fast. For most touring/non race skimo applications I don't think having one mechanism is necessary. This is nearly as fast. The boots are pretty serviceable as well (boas string is easily replaceable, and buckle, power straps and ski/walk lock are also attached by bolts, so replaceable as well). Only thing I'd like to see is the boa itself attached by something other than rivets, and cuff rivets be replaceable - we'll see how long they last). With steeper the skinning I don't notice the slightly less range of motion compared to my syborgs and Pierre Gignouxs at all. The only time I notice it is skinning on long, flat approaches. I don't think they have quite as much rearward cuff mobility if you're doing more of a nordic diagonal stride. That's probably not an issue for most folks. Initially the toe box was a bit tight but adding a shim under the ball of my foot and getting the inside of the boot blown out a few mm solved that. Easy cheap fix, and expecting a plastic boot to fit perfectly right out of the box is unrealistic. I wore them for probably close to 80 hours in the last two weeks and feet didn't feel beat up at all. Durability so far seems pretty solid even with a good amount of off-snow travel, rock scrambling, etc. My feet measure 285/287 mm. I went with a 28.5 in these, 29 in syborgs and 29 in PGs. I have slightly less room in the toe box than the other two but these fit well. The tech bsl is identical to the syborgs.
Comment on this review:

5/16/2017
Question from Lonz
 
Thanks for the quick response. You guys are on it.

To follow-up, what do you mean by 'designed around a duck stance'? Do you mean mounting your skis in a 'reverse pizza' sort of fashion? Does that stop you from accidentally pizzaing when you're trying to point it?

I don't know much about skis, but if it makes you go faster, it sounds pretty cool.

In reference to a boot, does that mean the foot positioning is ducked out by a few degrees relative to the front and back fittings? Thanks again.

Cheers.
5/16/2017
Answer from Trace Leches
 
Hey Lonz! It's tough to explain without having the boot in person, but basically the "duck-footed stance" means the heel mold is turned in a few degrees on the vertical axis; it's kind of leaning in a little bit, if that makes sense. It doesn't really prevent an accidental pizza, but it is one of the reasons why it's been a recent hit among hardbooters...and skiers, for that matter. Imagine squatting a lot of weight at the gym, getting into a starting position for a 100M Sprint, or prepping for a standing box jump. Is your stance in any of those cases as powerful with your feet perfectly forward as it is slightly turned out?
Answer this question:

5/15/2017
Question from Lonz
 
In an above post, jbo says that he (assuming you're a dude...my apologies otherwise) thinks this would make a sweet AT splitting boot due to the flex characteristics. I am wondering if you guys could please elaborate on that, if possible? I am looking to make the switch to hardboots and am seriously considering these.

If you feel comfortable making such comparisons, I would be interested to hear your thoughts on the relative merits of these vs the Aliens vs other splitting options (i.e. TLT6s, Siderals, etc.).

If that requires a novel-like response that you don't feel like writing, please feel free to disregard.

Cheers!
5/16/2017
Answer from Trace Leches
 
Hey Lonz! Thanks for reaching out! Yeah, this is a fantastic splitboarding boot and we've had a few really fast hard-booters put it through its paces this season. Forward flex is relatively soft compared to some other boots in its weight class (note to skiers reading this, a soft flexing boot doesn't mean it's not a powerful boot, the Travers carries a very impressive amount of power-per-gram) so it's splitboarder friendly. One feature that's unique to Fischer is the boot is designed around a duck-footed stance (to improve power transfer while skiing) which works out to be a more natural stance, especially with canted pucks, for a hard-boot setup.
Answer this question:

2/5/2017
by Eric (downright abused product)
 
I race in the DNA and was using the Dynafit PDG as my training/touring/climbing boot for which it was adequate at everything but excellent at nothing. I switch to the Travers and have completely stopped using the PDG.

Pros:
-It's stiffer and skies better than the PDG. Paired with a 80-100mm underfoot ski for touring days, it's freaking awesome.
-An actual full gaiter means that snow and slush don't pour into the front of the boot like the PDG. No snow in my boots! It's a miracle!
-Much warmer than the PDG for alpine climbing.
-Only a few grams heavier than the PDG so I still feel reasonable doing training sessions/intervals in them when my feet hurt too much to use the DNA.
-I like the boa system - feels very secure.
-Have already endured a good beating that would have taken serious life out of the PDGs.

Cons:
-A little heavier sure.
-Less ankle flexion. I wouldn't race in them.
Comment on this review: